Blessings in disguise

20130218-220002.jpg

Living on a farm with so many horses, raising some, showing some, and not always having time for each and every one is a common plight among farm owners.

We too have the difficult task sometimes, of having to find new owners for horses that are so near and dear to our hearts. It’s not fair to have such a compassionate breed of horse, and not be able to give them the companionship they need.

In June, 2011, I made the difficult choice, alongside mom, to offer up a mare (girl horse) that I had been showing, to a youth that had an interest in owning a horse. I was so uncertain, not of the future owner (she would be a member of a fabulous family), but of letting go of my gal, my companion in the ring, one that I saw such potential in.

20130221-202235.jpg
It was a blessing from above, from the very first moment. Jaz and Julie are the horses’ new moms, and my goodness, they are SUCH wonderful moms! Jaz trusts the horse “Hottie” completely, and is always ready to have an adventure with her, anywhere, anytime, any weather. Julie was a bit timid of horses in the beginning, but now, I delight when I catch her sneaking Hottie hugs and kisses, or when she steps in to help make her look absolutely perfect for the show ring.

20130221-202059.jpg
Sometimes selling a horse is a tough thing to work through. Sometime you regret the sale, sometimes you just plain worry, and sometimes, you see that the horse lost a light in their eyes, a tingle of their spirit. But with Jaz and Hottie, I get to work with them every week, see them visit often when not in lessons, and love the Facebook photos posted of the gals hanging out, visiting with friends, or just giving each other hugs. Jaz and Julie have given that horse more reasons to wake up and be blessed than I could every hope for.

20130221-202158.jpg
This photo, the relationship this little girl has, makes the sweat, frustration, success, bruised toenails, broken finger nails, sunburns, and frozen fingers worth it. I see them, and I know that something genuinely good exists…Jaz, Julie, and Hottie, thank you for always being such a blessing to me!

Leave a comment